The Plan B I Hope Never Gets Implemented

Like any true practitioner of public relations, I am conducting my job search according to a plan built upon objectives, strategies and tactics that lead to a goal: A full-time position with a progressive organization where I can grow professionally and contribute to the company’s goals. And, I’d like to get paid for what I do, too.

As a result, I’ve set aside parts of my week networking online, meeting with colleagues/friends for coffee, volunteering, researching companies I’d like to work for, and — yes — applying for positions posted on the growing number of online job sites. (I had no idea there were so many other there, and wonder just how they all can make money.) I also take advice from anyone who will give it.

My business is public relations and my experience falls into the association management industry and real estate arena. Seemingly, the opportunities are boundless as there are a lot of associations/non-profits in Chicago and a lot of real estate companies.

But there may come a time when I’ll need to cross that line in the sand, when I’ll have to search in fields outside of public relations or marketing or writing. Where will this Plan B lead me? Here are some options I might have to consider:

1. Wal-Mart Greeter. Public relations really is all about communication, and what better venue than the front door of a mega-retail outlet. The company has a great brand and is expanding.

2. Fast food drive through rep. You’re the first line of communication to customers who can’t/don’t want to get our of their cars. It’s fast-paced and exciting. And, you get to wear a nifty headset.

3. Bartender. A good bartender is a problem-solver, pseudo psychiatrist and front-line representative of the establishment. They communicate constantly, often with deafening music/noise in the background.

Seriously, and with no disrespect to the people who perform the jobs above and others, I remain very confident “the right” job will come my way. I always will consider myself a public relations professional, even if I am compelled to move to another industry.

Must go now and continue on making Plan A a reality.

2 thoughts on “The Plan B I Hope Never Gets Implemented

  1. Pingback: Six Months Later: Reached My Goal, Bring On More « Prdude's Blog

  2. Pingback: The PRDude Tries A Shift as The FoodDude « Prdude's Blog

Leave a Reply

