Before I Call It a Year

By Edward M. Bury, APR, aka The PRDude

This time of year, it’s easy to get caught up in the “Top 10…” or even “Ten Worst…” kind of madness that gets published online and in print, and aired on television and radio. Pundits, critics and yes, bloggers, find it essential at year-end to rank and ultimately file what’s perceived as important.

And, of course, regular folks just make New Year’s resolutions, which can be a good thing, providing they last before the next mortgage payment is due.

Regular readers of The PRDude know that I prefer the proverbial path less taken.  Hey, it’s more fun that way.  So rather than produce a dispatch on “Top 10 Public Relations Horror Stories” or some such nonsense, I’m ending 2011 with one of my many “Random Thoughts” posts.

NOTE: If you want to read what some self-proclaimed “experts” maintain are the biggest “bad” PR stories of the year, read this post from PR Newser. You’ll have enough to read well into 2012.

The PRDude Goes Intercontinental.  The nice folks at WordPress just sent me a cool report that provides analytics for my blog. (I recall reading some blog where the author asked for “buzz words” that need to be retired, and “analytics” was listed. Don’t get me started.)  Along with some of the expected stuff, I learned this: I have followers on every continent!  Well, not Antarctica.  But one person in Kenya reads my blog!  Those naysayers to the value behind and potential of online communications take notice:  Blogging is only going to be more prevalent, more relevant and more essential in the future.

This Ain’t Your Father’s Public Relations Anymore. For years, those of us in the industry have recognized the need to educate our clients, members of the media, the publics we try to influence and ourselves about the dynamic change in the way we practice public relations.  I think it’s often called a “paradigm shift.”  I just call it an entire new way to reach audiences and engage in dialogue.  In fact, the Public Relations Society of America, of which I’m a proud member, has launched an initiative to craft a new definition for “public relations.”  Hey, what’s yours?

What You Can Expect in 2012. One of the statistics revealed in my 2011 summary was a bit disturbing: The PRDude only published 30 posts all year.  What I hope to accomplish in 2012 is to publish a post weekly.  And, one strategy I’ll employ is to write shorter posts on a specific subject.  (So long my “Random Thoughts.”)  I’ve read good blogs should be in the 300 to 500 word range.  I must admit I’ve posted dissertations that have approached 1,000 words.

It’s time for Susan and I to head out for a nice New Year’s Eve dinner.  So, I’ll end this post with this thought:  Express yourself.  Share your thoughts and ideas. Communicate what you like and don’t like. We now have the tools to instantly exchange information that may make a positive impact on this world.  Make 2012 the year you commit to communicating.

Your thoughts are most welcomed.

Leave a Reply

