The Service of Self Alone: A Song for the Times

By Edward M. Bury, APR (aka The PRDude)

Yesterday, the citizens of Illinois (including this citizen) voted in a primary election for important statewide offices, including the office of governor.  I won’t comment on the nominees from the two major parties, an incumbent populist who has a long career in public service and a political newcomer who made a fortune in the venture capital business.

I trust both have good intentions, and I believe both want to do what they Illinoisbelieve is needed to help Illinois rebound.

In listening to acceptance speeches last night, this was a common thread: Illinois needs jobs. The unemployment rate here, currently at above 8 percent, is among the highest in the nation and the highest in the Midwest.

As regular followers know, The PRDude blog was started in 2009 as way to chronicle my search for “that next great job in public relations.”  Along with commenting on “the lighter side of public relations, marketing, communications and other stuff,” I frequently comment on the employment market and what it’s like to seek work during these challenging economic times.

Below are lyrics for a song — you know I write songs, too, don’t you? — that was inspired by my most recent job search. The title is a line from The Book of Common Prayer.

The Service of Self Alone

Save me, save me St. Theresa
From the service of self alone
Guide me, guide me to fulfillment
Down the narrow pathway home

Chorus
Righteousness and perseverance
Brought me to the place I’m at
Do you hear me St. Theresa?
Should I sound a trumpet blast?

Watch me, watch me St. Theresa
As I try another door
Help me, help me knock the loudest
Louder than the man before

Chorus

Refrain:
Me and many, many others
Are forced through no fault of our own
To toil not for some wage or purpose
In the service of self alone
In the service of self alone

So help me, help me St. Theresa
The weeks have turned to months again
Give me give me hope and one good reason
To carry on and not pretend

Copyright Edward M. Bury 2014

Hopefully, this song, which has a ska beat, will resonate with those who are seeking work. Hopefully, I won’t be inspired to write a song like this again.

Leave a Reply

