The Accreditation in Public Relations Credential: Still Has Value A Decade Later

By Edward M. Bury, APR (aka The PRDude)

Ten years ago this month, I returned from a wonderful Canadian fishing trip to find a large envelope on my desk at home.  It was confirmation that I satisfied the requirements to say I was among the best public relations practitioners in the nation.

Sounds lofty, perhaps haughty. But to me, it holds true.

APR certificateI’m referring to receiving my Certificate of Accreditation and a nice letter stating that I had passed the Comprehensive Examination, the last step before being granted the Accredited in Public Relations credential.

In the ensuing decade since that day in July of 2004, I’ve championed the APR every chance I can.  Next to getting the APR logo tattooed on my shoulder, I can’t think of what else I could do to promote the value behind earning Accreditation.

Over the past 10 years I’ve:

  • Served on the Universal Accreditation  Board for two six-year terms.
  • Helped develop and facilitate APR training courses as a Board member at PRSA Chicago.
  • Published many, many blogs — through this forum and others — promoting the positive impact Accreditation had on my career.
  • Participated in a 2006 podcast on Accreditation.
  • Promoted the credential at PRSA Chicago Chapter meetings.
  • Contributed to many online forums on the subject of Accreditation.
  • Bent the ear of just about anyone who would listen to this statement: “After I earned the APR, I transitioned from a tactician to a strategist.”

A key word in the items above is “earned.” Having the right to put those three letters after my name took a lot of effort, study, time and dedication.  At times I was frustrated — hey, I failed the Exam twice — with the process.

But I maintained a decade ago that earning Accreditation was the best professional achievement of my career.  I feel the same way today, a decade later.  I pursued Accreditation not because it was easy, but because it was hard.

I anticipate I’ll feel the same way a decade from now.

 

6 thoughts on “The Accreditation in Public Relations Credential: Still Has Value A Decade Later

  1. Congratulations Edward. I feel the same way, 21 years after earning my APR. It was a personal decision that affected my career in a very positive way and led me to serve in leadership positions with friends and colleagues like you. Those leadership positions taught me so much that I’ve applied to my every day practice of public relations management, and have led to a vast network.

    • Hi Marisa: Sincere thanks for your thoughts. I had been in public relations and communications for years; but I truly elevated my career and skills through Accreditation. And, as noted, I’ve had the opportunity to serve the industry and have a role in shaping its future.

  2. Edward

    This is great! I just returned from the UAB meeting in New York, and we talked about many of the same ideas you listed above. One of the best professional accomplishments that I’ve had is the APR. Thanks for your dedication to the APR credential and the public relations profession. I hope to see you soon!

    • Hello John:

      Thanks very much for your comment. Earning Accreditation and my time on the UAB proved to be a huge influence on my career. Wishing you and the UAB members much continued success.

  3. Best professional decision I made! Go APR

    • Hello Ann:

      Sincere thanks for your comment and support. Society needs Accredited professionals now more than ever.

Leave a Reply

