One Image, One Question: March 15, 2016

By Edward M. Bury, APR (aka The PRDude)

Okay, by the date cited in the title of this post, you probably know what’s to follow, especially if you live in Illinois. (Or Florida and Ohio.)

Yes, today we juxtapose an image and question related to today’s Primary Election in the state of Illinois.

Did you, or do you plan, to make your vote count during the primary election in your state?

Did you, or do you plan, to make your vote count during the primary election in your state?

In the days leading up to the election, citizens in and around metropolitan Chicago have been pummeled with campaign messages via broadcast media, fliers and signage, and of course, those always annoying robocalls, which usually arrive when I’m preparing or worse, eating dinner.

Yes, I cast my vote this morning. And, no, I won’t share any information on my choices for the national, statewide or local candidacies.

However, as in previous elections, the process to vote in my Chicago ward was effortless. There was no line, there was no confusion.  I preformed my civic duty in minutes using a pen and the double-sided ballot.

Which leads to today’s question:

If the process of voting is quick, uncomplicated and painless, why must the primary process be so lengthy, confusing and excruciating?

And, let me add to the debate: That which makes the world go ’round — money.

Call me a simpleton (hey, I’ve been called much worse), but it’s unfathomable that billions of dollars are spent annually on campaigns.  And, like everything in this world, the costs will continue to escalate.

So fellow Americans, please share your thoughts on this quandary, guaranteed by the U.S. Constitution.  I guarantee I’ll forward on commentary to those we elect to office.

Once they’re done campaigning, of course.

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

