Here’s How to Honor Those Lost on 9/11

By Edward M. Bury, APR (aka The PRDude)

With just less than half the day left, well, at least here in the Central time zone, here’s a suggestion for my fellow Americans.

Today, on the 15th anniversary of the terrorist attacks on our nation, let’s be civil to one another.

Courtesy of FreePik.com.

Courtesy of FreePik.com.

Let’s put aside pettiness and vitriol. Let’s tune out the rhetoric surrounding this exceedingly volatile and often bizarre presidential campaign. Let’s just chill, at least for the balance of the day.

I can’t think of a better way to honor those who lost their lives in the two New York office towers, at the Pentagon and in a field in Pennsylvania, as well as their families and loved ones.

Here in Chicago, the day can be best described as spectacular, clear and warm, much like on this day 15 years ago.  Hey, even the weather is providing the right atmosphere to demonstrate civility.

Lots of news organizations, commentators and pundits are sharing thoughts on the tragedy that resulted from the 9/11 attacks. Many probably can offer more poignant words than I can in this modest digital space. Just google 9/11 to get started.

But 10 years ago, I shared some thoughts on the terrorism that struck our nation in this post. That post, like this one, was relatively easy to write.

So, now I have the rest of this Sunday — Patriot Day 2016 — to enjoy myself here in America.

Think I’ll go for a walk to our farmer’s market; maybe I’ll buy something to add to tonight’s dinner. Then, I’ll probably have a few beers at the place around the corner.

Regardless of where the day takes me, I plan to be civil to everyone I meet.

Now, wouldn’t it be great if we could demonstrate civility every other day of the year? I plan to try.

2 thoughts on “Here’s How to Honor Those Lost on 9/11

Leave a Reply

